Skip to content
Hemispheric cooperation for competitive, secure, sustainable and inclusive ports in the Americas.

About Us

Inter-American Committee on Ports (CIP)

The Inter-American Committee on Ports (CIP) is the only permanent forum that brings together the National Port Authorities of the OAS’s 34 Member Countries and leaders of the maritime-port industry to promote the development of a secure, competitive, sustainable, and inclusive sector.

The CIP works under four mandates and six priority areas, constantly monitoring the gaps in a continuously changing maritime and port sector to bring concrete results to regional matters and challenges.  CIP Mandates are:

  1. Policy dialogue;
  2. Capacity building;
  3. Technical assistance; and
  4. Cooperation with the private sector.

CIP’s six priority areas according to the Plan of Action of Roatan 2023-2026 (CIDI/CIP/doc. 5/23 rev.1), represented through Technical Advisory Groups (TAG), each chaired by a National Port Authority, are:

  1. Logistics, Innovation, and Competitiveness: Mexican Secretariat of the Navy
  2. Port Protection and Security: Barbados Port Inc.
  3. Sustainable Port Management and Environmental Protection: National Port Authority of Peru
  4. Public Policy, Legislation and Regulation: National Port Commission of Guatemala
  5. Waterways, Inland and Cruise Ports: General Ports Administration of Argentina
  6. Port-City Relation, Social Responsibility and Gender Equality: Panama Maritime Authority

To find out more about each TAG click on the images below.

Logistics, Innovation, and Competitiveness

Mexican Secretariat of the Navy

Port Protection and Security

Barbados Port Inc.

Public Policy, Legislation and Regulation

National Port Commission of Guatemala

Waterways, Inland and Cruise Ports

General Ports Administration of Argentina